Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
September 6, 2011
Contact: Dave Nelson
Senator Nelson Honored for Barnett Shale Legislative Efforts

AUSTIN — State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, has received the 2011 Legislative Leadership Award from the Texas Oil & Gas Association for her work on two pieces of legislation providing greater public disclosure of the environmental impacts of gas drilling.

"Natural gas drilling is important to our region's economy and to our nation's energy independence, but the health of our citizens is our top priority," Senator Nelson said. "I thank the Texas Oil & Gas Association for helping us pass legislation to maximize the economic benefits of the Barnett Shale in a way that also protects our environment and the public health."

Senator Nelson was a co-sponsor of HB 3328, which requires drillers to list the chemicals used in hydraulic fracturing on a public website. The Texas Railroad Commission is in the process of writing rules to implement the bill.

She was a joint author of SB 527, which adds new air monitors in the Barnett Shale. The monitors will be located near drilling sites to test for benzene and 45 different volatile organic compounds.

"Senator Nelson's disclosure law for chemicals used in hydraulic fracturing and a bill to create an expanded air monitoring network will establish greater transparency and provide quality data to the public — while, at the same time, protecting Texas jobs. We commend Senator Nelson for her leadership and foresight as it serves the public and keeps the engine of the economy moving," said Debbie Hastings, vice president of environmental affairs for the Texas Oil & Gas Association.

Senator Nelson represents Senate District 12, which includes portions of Denton and Tarrant counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Health & Human Services Committee.