Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
January 28, 2011
Contact: Janet Elliott
Senator Nelson to Chair Health & Human services panel, also serve on Finance, Nominations Committees

AUSTIN — Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, will continue to serve as Chairman of the Senate Health & Human Services Committee, according to committee assignments handed down today by the Lieutenant Governor, who re-appointed Senator Nelson to the Finance, Government Organization and Nominations committees.

"Health and human services accounts for a third of the state budget, so it is critically important that we scrutinize every penny we spend to ensure we are making the best possible use of our limited resources this session," Senator Nelson said. "These committee assignments will help me better represent the people of Senate District 12, who expect government to live within its means but also to honor our responsibilities to the state's most vulnerable citizens."

The Senate Finance Committee is the body responsible for writing the Senate's version of the state budget. The Senate Government Organization Committee vets legislation relating to the government efficiency, as well as Sunset legislation for state agencies. Similar to the U.S. Senate, the Texas Senate is responsible for confirming gubernatorial appointments. Confirmation hearings take place before the Senate Nominations Committee.

To learn more about committee assignments, watch live hearings or read about actions taken in the upper chamber, visit the Texas Senate online at To follow bills before the Legislature, visit the Legislature online at

Senator Nelson represents Senate District 12, which includes portions of Denton and Tarrant counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Health & Human Services Committee.