Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
February 6, 2008
Contact: Dave Nelson

AUSTIN -- Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Lewisville, will receive Susan G. Komen for the Cure's first-ever Legislative Champion of the Year Award during a ceremony at the Wyndham Anatole hotel in Dallas at 10 a.m. Saturday, February 9, 2008.

"I have long admired this organization's efforts on behalf of women affected by breast cancer. To be recognized by such amazing Texans is a tremendous honor," Senator Nelson said. "We can defeat breast cancer -- and all forms of this terrible disease -- by supporting lifesaving medical research and encouraging Texans to make healthy choices."

Susan G. Komen selected Senator Nelson for her work as Senate sponsor of Proposition 15, establishing the Cancer Prevention & Research Institute of Texas and authorizing up to $300 million per year over the next 10 years to support research and preventive health measures targeting cancer. Voters approved Proposition 15 last fall, establishing Texas as the nation's premiere location for cancer research.

"We are extremely grateful to have Senator Nelson as a strong ally in the fight against breast cancer. Proposition 15 would not have succeeded without her steadfast support. This award is our way of saying thank you for being our legislative champion," said Diane Balma, Vice President of Public Policy of Susan G. Komen for the Cure.

Senator Nelson served four years on the Texas Cancer Council and has succeeded with legislation expanding access to breast and cervical cancer screenings for low income women, strengthening anti-tobacco laws and promoting policies that encourage healthy lifestyles.

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, which includes parts of Tarrant and Denton counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Health & Human Services Committee.