COMMITTEES:

Health & Human Services, vice-chair Agriculture, Water & Rural Affairs Education Finance Transportation

THE SENATE OF TEXAS

DISTRICT 18

CAPITOL OFFICE: 3E.2 • P.O. Box 12068 Austin, Texas 78711 (512) 463-0118

Contact: Matthew Russell



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 23, 2015 512-463-0118

Freshman Senator Lois W. Kolkhorst Appointed to Senate Budget Conference Committee

AUSTIN - Lt. Governor Dan Patrick appointed five Senators to serve on the budget conference committee, charged with crafting the final version of the state spending bill. The Senate team will be led by Finance Committee Chair Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, and includes Senators Joan Huffman, R-Houston, Juan Hinojosa, D-McAllen, and Charles Schwertner, R-Georgetown, as well as freshman Senator Lois Kolkhorst R-Brenham.

The move to appoint Kolkhorst marks the first time in recent history that a freshman Senator has been appointed to the powerful committee. Earlier this week, the House announced its five members of the conference committee, which includes Appropriations Chairman John Otto, R-Dayton, and Reps. Sylvester Turner, D-Houston; Sarah Davis, R-West University Place; Trent Ashby, R-Lufkin; and Larry Gonzales, R-Round Rock.

"It is an honor to serve as a budget writer for the greatest state in the nation," Kolkhorst said. "My fundamental goal is to help craft a fiscally responsible budget that meets the needs of all Texans."

Senator Kolkhorst had previously served twice on the state's budget conference committee during her fourteenyear tenure in the Texas House of Representatives.

Last week, the Texas Senate approved a two-year, \$211 billion budget which includes almost \$4.5 billion in property and franchise tax relief, while increasing the state's border security efforts by over \$800 million. The Senate conferees will begin meeting with their House counterparts next week to reconcile their differences.

###