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Driver Reform: Keeping Texas Motorists Behind The Wheel

Government exists to serve the people.  When government claims a need to regulate certain activities or aspects of our lives, 
it is imperative that it do so in the most non-intrusive way. The Department of Public Safety (DPS), who administers Texas' 
driver licensing program, has lost sight of that principle.
 
The vast majority of adults in Texas - over 20 million - hold a Texas driver license and enjoy the freedoms it affords them.  
Freedoms such as associating with your chosen friends, supporting causes, and earning a living are all made possible by the 
ability to travel in a motor vehicle. 
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To ease the burden on Texas drivers, we are crafting legislation that would extend renewal periods for a Class C driver 
license from six to eight years.  This would still comport with federal ID requirements while lessening the trips, fees, and 
time Texas motorists spend renewing their licenses.  In addition, we are introducing legislation to eliminate the state vehicle 
inspection program which has not been proven to be effective in reducing fatality or injury rates.
 
Moving Driver Licensing Program
The Texas driver license program is managed by DPS, and is by far the most well-known program administered by the 
agency.  Originally the purpose of locating the program under the auspices of DPS was because driver licenses essentially 
serve as security documents.  The extensive training staff is required to undergo in order to issue new licenses and the fact 
that DPS has authority to access federal and state fingerprint-based background checks seemed to make it a good fit for 
issuing these documents. 
 
Despite the dedicated staff however, the program constantly experiences high-profile problems with customer service.  For 
example, the 2018 DPS Sunset Report to the 86th Legislature cites examples of months-long wait times to take a simple 
driving skills test at driver license offices. Further, it shows the department's failure to meet its key performance metric: 
completing 82 percent of driver license and ID card applications within 45 minutes1.  Significantly, DPS has failed to meet 
this performance goal since 2014 - the year the goal was established.

Also inherent in driving, however, is the hassle of long waits, 
countless departments, and the bottomless paperwork required 
to be a licensed driver.  We have worked hard this session to 
present good legislation that will begin to deregulate Texas' 
difficult and complex driver licensing laws:

Driver Regulatory Reform
For many Texans, renewing a driver license is on par with 
paying taxes and standing in a never-ending line at the post 
office.  According to findings from the Texas Sunset 
Commission, the average wait time for people at certain 
Department of Public Safety (DPS) driver license office 
locations was about 70 minutes. 
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In 2017, callers waited on hold for an average of 14 minutes, and only about 20 percent of the 24,400 daily calls were 
answered2.  These long wait times have persisted despite the Legislature investing more than $300 million in the driver 
license program over the last few years.  All of these problems speak of a more serious, underlying incongruence with DPS's 
primary mission to combat crime.
 
Most states issue driver licenses through their motor vehicle department. Only eight states use their public safety 
department for this function.  The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has an entire division dedicated to 
consumer relations and focuses heavily on satisfaction with its service.
 
To focus priorities, we are working on legislation to move the driver license program from DPS management to DMV.  This 
makes sense on multiple levels.  By empowering each agency to maximize their strengths, Texas motorists will be served 
more effectively and efficiently.  
 
Texas Driver Responsibility Program  (DRP) Reform
I have written extensively in the past about the harmful effects of the Texas Driver Responsibility Program (DRP). First 
passed by the Texas Legislature over 12 years ago, the DRP was created to help increase revenue for a $9.9 billion budget 
shortfall. The program essentially penalizes drivers with surcharges for committing driving-related offenses. If you do not 
pay, your driver license can be suspended.
 
According to the Senate Research Center, over 1.2 million people have had their licenses suspended for failure to pay 
assessments.  This often causes people who want to work to pay off their debts to be unable to do so, and people who 
currently have jobs to not be able to keep them.  People become caught in a cycle of poverty and debt from which they 
cannot escape.
 
I have listened to constituents and stakeholders on this issue over the years, and have filed S.B. 87 and S.B. 577, both of 
which repeal the program and offer different alternatives for replacing the revenue it generates to the state.

Notes
1 Texas Sunset Commission Staff Report with Commission Decisions 2018-19
2 Id.




