

RICK PERRY Lieutenant Governor of Texas President of the Senate

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

January 27, 2000 Contact: Ray Sullivan or Eric Bearse (512) 463-0715

LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR RICK PERRY NAMES SENATE COMMITTEE ON REDISTRICTING

An open process and fair, compact, common-sense districts are goal of Senate Committee

AUSTIN - Lieutenant Governor Rick Perry today announced the formation of the Senate Committee on Redistricting. The Committee, co-chaired by one Democratic and one Republican Senator, will conduct public hearings to gather information and input from communities throughout Texas as our state begins the process of crafting fair, compact and contiguous state and federal political district boundaries.

The Committee hearings will also help meet the requirements of the federal Voting Rights Act, which require Texas district lines to be pre-cleared by the federal government.

Perry named the following 11 Senators to the Redistricting Committee:

Senator Mario Gallegos (D-Houston), co-chairman Senator Troy Fraser (R-Horseshoe Bay), co-chairman Senator Gonzalo Barrientos (D-Austin) Senator Eddie Lucio (D-Brownsville) Senator Frank Madla (D-San Antonio) Senator Royce West (D-Dallas) Senator Jane Nelson (R-Flower Mound) Senator Florence Shapiro (R-Plano) Senator Robert Duncan (R-Lubbock) Senator Steve Ogden (R-Bryan) Senator Mike Jackson (R-La Porte)

"Texans deserve a fair and open redistricting process," said Lieutenant Governor Perry. "The Senate will adhere to the constitutional requirement of one person-one vote during the redistricting process. I'm confident that the Redistricting Committee will work hard to create fair, compact and common-sense districts."